Cork win Canon O’Brien trophy


Cork won the Canon O’Brien trophy in the Mardyke today with a scoreline of Cork 2-13 to UCC 0-13.

After heavy rain before the game and throughout the first half the ground was sodden and the conditions totally unsuited to a skillful fast game.

However in spite of this the two teams served up a competitive affair with the result in doubt up until Darragh Fitzgerald’s goal in the closing minutes sealed the trophy for Cork.

It was all Cork in the beginning of the match as they went into a 0-7 to 0-02 lead after 21 minutes. Paudie O Sullivan and Paul Haughney both keeping the scoreboard ticking over with Rob O Shea being the only contributor for UCC with a couple of frees.

It was at this point UCC sprung to life to get 4 unanswered points, first from Tipperary’s Alan Browne, then two frees from Rob O Shea and finally a point from Alan Cadogan to leave it Cork 0-07 to UCC 0-06 at the break.

Straight after the break Paudie O Sullivan found himself through on goal and finished to the net and this goal was to provide Cork with a cushion for the rest of the half.


Rob O Shea replied with two frees with Paul Haughney next on the scoreboard to bring it back to a goal gap. Two Cadogan points and a Rob O Shea point cut the gap to just one point only for Paudie O’Sullivan to stretch Cork’s lead again with a couple of frees.

UCC were still in the game but their inability to get a goal and Cork’s ever present goal threat at the other end was to prove decisive.

After a couple of excellent stops from the UCC keeper Jack Barry from Castlelyons in the second half, he was finally beaten for the second time after a great instinctive save fell into the path of Charleville’s Darragh Fitzgerald who batted it into the net to effectively end the contest.