Cork through to McGrath Cup final.


Cork 3-19 Waterford 1-5

Cork gained revenge for being defeated last year in this competition by the same opponents in what was a facile victory over Waterford last night in Mallow.

It took 14 mins for the first score for Waterford from full forward Paul Whyte by which time a Peter Kelleher goal, a Andrew O’Sullivan goal on seven minutes and two Ruairí Deane points had already ended it as a contest.

Peter Kelleher scored Cork’s third goal on 24 minutes. Mark Collins (0-2), Brian Hurley, Daniel Goulding (0-2), Luke Connolly, and Bart Daly all scored which meant by half time all Cork’s six starting forwards were on the score sheet.

In the second half sub Brian Coughlan, Hurley (0-3) and Goulding brought Cork’s lead out to 19-points. On 51 minutes, Corcoran was put through for a goal for the Deise but Whyte’s point on 56 minutes was to be Waterford last score.

Waterford made five changes at half-time and used their final sub after a Liam Lawlor injury on 41 minutes. As a result they ended the match with 13-men when Peter Crowley was black carded on 55 minutes and midfielder Tommy Prendergast was injured shortly before the end.

Cork added further to Waterford misery before the end with points from Seamus Hickey, Jamie Davis and two more from Goulding.

Next up for Cork is the final against Clare next Friday the 22nd of January at 7:30pm in Mallow.

Scorers for Cork:D Goulding (0-6, 0-1 free); P Kelleher (2-0); B Hurley (0-4, 0-3 frees); A O’Sullivan (1-0); R Deane, M Collins (0-2 each); B Daly, L Connolly, J Davis, B Coughlan, S Hickey (0-1 each).

Scorers for Waterford:S Corcoran (1-1); P Whyte (0-3); M O’Halloran (0-1).
B O’Connell; C O’Driscoll, J O’Sullivan, K Histon; T Clancy, J Loughrey, B Daly; I Maguire, A O’Sullivan; Mark Collins (0-2), L Connolly, R Deane; D Goulding, P Kelleher, B Hurley.
B Coughlan for Connolly (HT), J Davis for Histon (HT), S Hickey for Maguire (47 mins), K O’Hanlon for Deane (53), L Harrington for Loughrey (57), Mark Collins for O’Driscoll (62).

S Barron; T Ó hÚllacháin, T O’Gorman, B Looby; M Curry, J McGarth, R O Ceallaigh; C Prunty, T Prendergast; D Power, D Breathnach, D Allen; S Corcoran, P Whyte, M O’Halloran.
S Enright for Barron (HT), M O’Gorman for Ó Ceallaigh (HT), JJ Hutchinson for Breathnach (HT), G Crotty for Allen (HT), L Lawlor for Power (HT), L Ó Curráin for Lawlor (41 mins, inj).