Cork beat Waterford in the snow in Mallow.

Cork 2-18
Waterford 0-13

Cork ran out comfortable winners on a snowy night in Mallow against a Waterford side that for a large portion of the match were well in the game.

Patrick O’Rourke opened the scoring for Cork and Pa Cronin opened his account with a 65. Waterford replied with their opening point before Luke O Farrell stretched the lead out to two again. It was short lived as Waterford pulled level with two points. Scores from Luke O Farell, Dean Brosnan, a brace from Harnedy and Cronin from frees meant Cork went in at half time up 0-11 to Waterford’s 0-08

Waterford started the second half strongly and had drawn level by the 47 minute. Pa Cronin put the rebels back in front with two frees only for Waterford to come back again with another point.

Then came the turning point of the game, a 58 minute goal for Cork sub William Leahy from a through ball from William Egan. From here on Cork ploughed ahead with points from Bill Cooper and Will Leahy and another goal at the death from Cronin to seal the victory for Cork and cap a good night for him with a total of 1-08 on the board.

Next up for Cork is Limerick on the 17th in Mallow, with a result then guaranteeing a final appearance against more then likely Clare.

Scorers for Cork: Patrick Cronin 1-8 (0-6f, 0-1 65), William Leahy 1-1, Luke O’Farrell 0-3, Séamus Harnedy 0-2, Bill Cooper, Dean Brosnan, Stephen Moylan, Patrick O’Rourke 0-1 each.

Scorers for Waterford: Shane Bennett 0-6 (0-4f, 0-1 65), Tommy Waring, Tommy Ryan 0-2 each, Shane O’Sullivan, Mikey Kearney, Andy Molumby 0-1 each.


1. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)

2. Stephen Murphy (Blackrock)
6. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)
4. Cian Buckley (Na Piarsaigh)

5. Patrick O’Mahony (Midleton)
18. Brian Moylan (Glen Rovers)
7. William Egan (Kilbrin)

8. Cormac Murphy (Mallow)
9. Damien Cahalane (St Finbarr’s)

12. Pa Cronin (Bishopstown)
11. Bill Cooper (Youghal)
10. Dean Brosnan (Glen Rovers)

13. Patrick O’Rourke (Na Piarsiagh)
14. Luke O’Farrell (Midleton)
15. Stephen Moylan (Douglas)

19. Séamus Harnedy (St Ita’s) for O’Rourke (13-24, blood)
17. Patrick O’Sullivan (Carrigtwohill) for Buckley (48)
21. William Leahy (Aghada) for O’Farrell (54, injured)
Harnedy for Brosnan (61)

1. Ian O’Regan (Mount Sion)

2. Conor Gleeson (Fourmilewater)
3. Shane Roche (Shamrocks)
4. Kieran Bennett (Ballysaggart)

5. Paudie Prendergast (Lismore)
6. Shane McNulty (De La Salle)
7. Gavin O’Brien (Roanmore)

8. Colin Dunford (Colligan)
9. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)

12. Tommy Waring (Erin’s Own)
11. Shane O’Sullivan (Ballygunner)
20. Craig Guiry (Fourmilewater)

13. Tommy Ryan (Tallow)
14. Colm Roche (Shamrocks)
15. Mikey Kearney (Ballyduff Upper)

21. Frank McGrath (Roanmore) for McNulty (35-half-time, blood)
McGrath for O’Brien (half-time)
24. Andy Molumby (Cappoquin) for Dunford (half-time)
25. Séamus Keating (Ardmore) for Guiry (half-time)
26. Seán Ryan (Fourmilewater) for Prendergast (half-time)
22. Harley Barnes (Ballygunner) for Shane Bennett (57)