Cork beat Kerry in M.H.L.


Cork 1-20 Kerry 0-18

Cork started strongly in this Munster Hurling League match against Kerry in Mallow with the returning Conor Lehane making an immediate impact. Lehane got three of Cork’s five unanswered points in the first eight minutes with Chris O Leary and Brian Moylan contributing one each.

No sooner had Kerry started to work themselves into the game when Luke O Farrell pounced for the opening goal. Kerry recovered to score again but then Cork scored four points, two from Dean Brosnan and one each from Brian Moylan and Lehane only for Kerry to rally again before the break to bring the score to Cork 1-11 to Kerry 0-9 at half-time.

The second half started with both sides trading point for point until Cork once again stretched the gap through points from Harnedy and Alan Cadogan. However Kerry were not finished yet and were unlucky to not score when sub Mikey Boyle was dragged down by Cork keeper Dalton which in the other code would have resulted in a black card. Here it only resulted in a yellow and a penalty that Dalton went on to save.

It was to prove to be a decisive period of play as Kerry never really threatened again. It was all over bar a schmozzel which resulted in Alan Cadogan and Darren Dineen being straight red carded.

Scorers for Cork: C. Lehane (0-6, 2 frees), L. O’Farrell (1-3); S. Harnedy (0-4, 2 frees); B. Moylan (1 free), D. Brosnan, A. Cadogan (0-2 each); C. O’Leary (0-1).

Scorers for Kerry: S. Nolan (frees), M. O’Leary (0-5); C. Harty (0-3); P. Lucid (0-2); B. O’Leary, J. Conway, J. Goulding (0-1 each).

CORK: D. Dalton, C. Buckley, C. Barry, D. Browne, M. O’Keeffe, D. Cahalane, B. Moylan, C. Lehane, D. Brosnan, C. Cormack, S. Harnedy, P. O’Rourke, T. O’Mahony, L. O’Farrell, C. O’Leary.

Subs: A. Cadogan for O’Leary, C. O’Sullivan for Browne (HT); A. Dennehy for O’Keeffe, W. Leahy for O’Mahony (47); L. Meade for Lehane (63).

KERRY: M. Stackpoole, S. Weir, B. Murphy, D. Fitzelle, D. Collins ( c), D. Dineen, J. Diggins, P. O’Connor, P. Lucid, C. Harty, B. O’Leary, S. Nolan, K. Carmody, M. O’Leary, J. Conway.

Subs: J. O’Connor for P. O’Connor, M. Boyle for Carmody (46); T. Murnane for Fitzelle (56); J. Goulding for Nolan (63).